Activities Guide

Ventnor Fringe At Ventnor Park

Looking for something a little different on your next island escape? Then look no further than the variety of activities and experiences available on the Isle of Wight.

Whilst there are also a healthy selection of attractions, which can be found in our attractions guide, there are also plenty more to do – nearly 100 of them – from exploring the island by foot, bicycle, horse, boat or even plane, doing a spot of fishing or enjoying a game of golf, take in a performance or exhibition at one of the arts venues and theatres, enjoying the island’s sports and leisure facilities or taking a course in cookery, jewellery or arts and much more.

We’ve pulled together a guide with all of the options available – take a look and see what takes your fancy! We’ve also added all of the major multi day festivals covering literature, walking, music and more.

We’d recommend checking on the provided links for updates on hours, booking and other arrangements, as well as regular winter closures.

1leisure Leisure Centres Web: 1leisure.co.uk      Tel: 01983 823880
A choice of three leisure centres from 1leisure, part of Isle of Wight Council:

  • The Heights, Sandown: Swimming pools, gym, health suite, activity studios including Cyclone, squash court
  • Medina, Newport: Swimming pools, gym, health suite, activity studios including Cyclone, sports hall including badminton
  • Westridge, Ryde: Gym, squash courts, racket ball, table tennis
Adgestone Vineyard Web: adgestonevineyard.co.uk      Tel: 01983 402882
Explore the 10 acres to see the vines growing, taking in a tour and then visit the shop to pick your wines and eat a cream tea or meal in the cafe.
Apollo Theatre Web: apollo-theatre.org.uk     Tel: 01983 210010
Little theatre set in a former Methodist church.
Bembridge Marine Web: bembridgemarine.com     Tel: 01983 872817
Ribs for hire from Bembridge, Seaview and Cowes Yacht Haven.
Beryl Web: beryl.cc/scheme/isle-wight
E-bicycle and e-scooters available for hire at various locations across the island.
Black Rock Fishing and Charters Web: blackrockcharters.co.uk     Tel: 07865 593155
2 hour, half day and full day fishing trips and cruises around the Needles and the surrounding area.
Butterfly Paragliding Web: paraglide.uk.com      Tel: 07840 491981
Experience tandem paragliding from Chale on the south west coast of the island with BHPA instructors including Four In A Bed’s Butterfly Dave.
Cachalot Charters Web: cachalot-charters.co.uk      Tel: 01983 874100
Charter fishing boat for experienced and beginner anglers in groups of up to 10.
Cineworld Web: cineworld.co.uk
11 screen cinema with 3D available.
Commodore Cinema + Leo Leisure Bingo Web: leoleisurecommodore.co.uk + leoleisure.com/ryde

Tel: 01983 564064 + 01983 562616

Independent 3 screen cinema with bingo hall.
Cowes Golf Club Web: cowesgolfclub.co.uk      Tel: 01983 292303
18 hole golf course with clubhouse in the heart of Cowes.
Cowes Ribs Web: cowesribs.com     Tel: 07979 495537
Rib charter from one hour to full day, based in Cows.
Dinosaur Expeditions Web: dinosaurexpeditions.co.uk     Tel: 01983 740844
Small museum with fossils, palaeoart, activities and gift shop alongside public and private fossil hunting tours with experienced expert guides.
Elizabeth Hodgson Sculpture Web: elizabethhodgsonsculpture.uk     Tel: 07889 633460
Based just outside Newport, learn sculpture with aluminium and hammering techniques to create indoor and outdoor pieces as well as jewellery in workshop classes.
Fired Art Ceramic Studio Web: facebook.com/firedartceramicstudio     Tel: 01983 614455
Ceramic art studio and cafe based in Ryde.
Freshwater Bay Golf Club Web: freshwaterbaygolfclub.co.uk      Tel: 01983 752955
Seaside links style 18 hole golf course at the top of the cliffs in Freshwater with fantastic views over the bay and clubhouse.
Glory Art Glass Web: gloryartglass.net     Tel: 01983 402515
Learn how to work with 1,150°C hot molten glass and create your own paperweight in a lesson with the studio’s experts.
Goodleaf Tree Climbing Web: goodleaf.co.uk     Tel: 0333 800 1188
Climb up a 15 metre oak tree with experienced instructors.
Harriet Hue Web: harriethue.co.uk
Based in Cowes, beginners lessons in oil painting.
High Adventure Paragliding Web: highadventureparagliding.co.uk     Tel: 07811 700410
Variety of paragliding courses from BHPA licensed instructors at private teaching sites in West Wight
Hill Farm Stables Web: facebook.com     Tel: 01983 752502
Stables with horses and ponies in the West Wight for private and group lessons as well as parties
Island Gems Web: islandgems.co.uk     Tel: 01983 740493
Explore the coastline in Brook and Compton on a fossil hunting trip and see if you can find a dinosaur!
Island Riding Centre Web: islandriding.com     Tel: 01983 214000
Individual and group horse riding lessons at their Newport base.
Isle of Flight Microlights Web: isle-of-flight.co.uk      Tel: 07762 268505
Based in Sandown, soar across the island with experience flights to take in the sights or learn to fly with lessons.
Isle of Wight Freshwater Angling Company Web: iwfac.co.uk
Selection of fishing sites across the island with day tickets available.
Isle of Wight Ghost Tour Experience Web: isleofwightghostexperience.co.uk    Tel: 07985 710857
Find out about the spooky past to a selection of locations on the island with guided ghost walks.
Isle of Wight Guided Tours Web: isleofwightguidedtours.co.uk     Tel: 01983 754444
A variety of guided tours taking in the sights of the Isle of Wight – including town tours, historic sites and coastline.
Isle of Wight Literary Festival Web: isleofwightliteraryfestival.com
Programme from a wide range of authors from across literature talking their latest works.
Isle of Wight Pearl Web: iowpearl.co.uk      Tel: 01983 740352
Shop showcasing selection of pearl jewellery, cafe, design and repairs, as well as pearl masterclass to learn all about how the pearls are cultured and turned into jewellery.
Isle of Wight Studio Glass Web: isleofwightstudioglass.com      Tel: 01983 522339
Glass studio with shop showcasing their range, glass museum and also offering group glassmaking sessions.
Isle of Wight Walking Festival Web: isleofwightwalkingfestival.co.uk
Now offering both spring and autumn editions, the festival offers a wide selection of led walks across the island.
JR Zone Web: jrzone.co.uk     Tel: 01983 559272
Soft play and laser storm venue located in Newport.
Julie Sajous Web: juliesajous.com     Tel: 07753 102482
Based in Wellow, studio classes, workshops and sketch walks covering acrylic, pen and wash, drawing and more.
Lake Farm Equestrian Centre Web: lakefarmiow.com     Tel: 01983 840251
Riding school for individual and group lessons located in Rookley.
Magic Island Web: sandownpier.co.uk     Tel: 01983 404122
Soft play set in the old Sandown Pavilion on Sandown Pier.
Meadow Lakes Web: meadowlakescl.co.uk/fishing-lakes     Tel: 01983 740941
Fishing for trout, carp, roach and rudd based in Limerstone.
Medina Theatre Web: medinatheatre.co.uk     Tel: 01983 823884
430 seater theatre in Newport offering a selection of performances including local and national comedian, comedians, dancers and more.
Monkton Arts Web: monktonarts.co.uk     Tel: 07515 284460
Community cafe and arts centre with two art galleries, artists in residence, music venue and regular groups and courses.
National Garden Scheme Web: ngs.org.uk
Selection of private gardens across the island that open up to the public for a day or two in aid of charity.
Monkey Madness Soft Play Web: amazonworld.co.uk     Tel: 01983 867122
Soft play open all year based at Amazon World.
Needles Pleasure Cruises Web: needlespleasurecruises.co.uk      Tel: 01983 761587
Regular pleasure cruises around the west of the island including The Needles and Alum Bay.
Newclose County Cricket Ground Web: newclose.org       Tel: 01983 824570
County cricket ground with matches throughout the summer and clubhouse.
Newport Golf Club Web: newportiwgc.co.uk     Tel: 01983 525076
9 hole golf club with views across the centre of the island and beyond and clubhouse.
New Forest Cycling Tours – Isle of Wight Adventure Web: newforestcyclingtours.com       Tel: 07976 688437
Enjoy a guided cycling tour starting in Yarmouth and travelling through Freshwater, Brighstone and Shorwell on a 22 mile route.
Ocean Blue Quay Web: oceanbluequay.co.uk     Tel: 07980 986232
Private charters and cruises out of Ventnor Haven.
Osborne Golf Club Web: osbornegolfclub.co.uk      Tel: 01983 295421
Set in the grounds of Queen Victoria’s Osborne House, the island’s oldest club, a 9 hole course with views across the Solent and clubhouse.
Pot Black Web: facebook.com     Tel: 01983 861113
Pool and snooker hall in Shanklin.
Quay Arts Web: quayarts.org     Tel: 01983 76067
Set in a converted 12th century brewery, home to three art galleries, theatre for live performances and artist studios and workshop sessions in Jubilee Stores including pottery and drawing.
Random-Rooms Web: random-rooms.co.uk
Selection of escape rooms including a prison cell, headteacher’s office and old hospital room.
Rebel Marine Web: rebelmarine.co.uk     Tel: 07495 234444
Rib charters starting from 2 hours as well as RYA training.
Rocket Ronnies Pool Hall Web: rocketronniesiow.co.uk     Tel: 01983 520230 + 01983 722715
Pool halls and bars located in Newport (11 tables) and Ryde (14 tables).
Routefifty7 Web: routefifty7.com     Tel: 07491 000057
Bicycle (and e-bicycle) hire from two locations in Shanklin.
Ryde Cricket Club Web: rydecc.play-cricket.com       Tel: 07990 584422
Cricket club with matches throughout the summer and clubhouse.
Ryde Golf Club Web: rydegolfclub.co.uk      Tel: 01983 614809
9 hole golf course including secondary positions for a further 9 holes with clubhouse set in Ryde.
Ryde Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club Web: rydelawn.co.uk     Tel: 01983 562095
Located in Ryde, 8 tennis courts (6 astro turf, 2 grass), as well as 4 croquet lawns available for hire as well as group and private coaching sessions available.
Ryde Mead Lawn Tennis Web: lta.org.uk     Tel: 07593 148662
Located in Ryde, 5 hard tennis courts (3 flood lit) available for hire as well as group and private coaching sessions available.
Sally’s Riding School Web: sallysridingschool.com     Tel: 01983 872260
Riding school based at Nodes Point during the summer and Bembridge during the winter offering horse riding including beach rides.
Salty Sailing Web: saltysailing.co.uk      Tel: 01983 282867
Learn to sail with sailing and powerboat courses, as well as book a charter and cruise.
Shanklin and Godshill Cricket Club Web: shanklin.play-cricket.com       Tel: 01983 868436
Cricket club with matches throughout the summer and clubhouse.
Shanklin and Sandown Golf Club Web: ssgolfclub.com      Tel: 01983 403217
18 hole golf course set on the edge of Sandown located between the airport and a collection of nature reserves with a clubhouse.
Shanklin Theatre Web: shanklintheatre.com      Tel: 01983 868000
A community theatre that punches above it weight with a selection of local shows including Spotlight’s Best Of The West End and Christmas panto plus a wide number of celebrity performances from comedy, dance, music and much more.
Skydive Isle of Wight Web: skydiveiow.co.uk     Tel: 07548 324910
See the island from above with tandem skydiving with British Skydiving accredited instructors.
Solent Cruises Web: solentcruises.co.uk     Tel: 01983 564602
Cruises of Cowes and Portsmouth Harbour as well as shopping trips to Portsmouth.
Sophia Flowers  Web: sophiaflowers.com
Acrylic and oil painting classes, workshops and private tuition.
Strings Bar and Venue Web: stringsbarandvenue.com     Tel: 01983 537378
300 capacity live music and performing arts venue located in Newport.
The Imaginarium Web: theimaginarium.one     Tel: 01983 760 500
Studios for a selection of local artisans with events, exhibitions and workshops
Tackt-Isle Adventures Web: tackt-isle.co.uk     Tel: 01983 875542
Based in St Helens, tuition and hire for a variety of water sporting including dingy sailing, windsurfing, kayaking, paddleboarding and canoeing.
Tapnell Farm Web: tapnellfarm.com     Tel: 01983 758722
In addition to the farm itself, a selection of activities including aqua park, archery, axe throwing, football golf and clay pigeon shooting
Tav Cycles Web: tavcycles.co.uk/cycle-hire     Tel: 01983 812989
Bicycle (and e-bicycle) hire based in Ryde with Tav’s bicycle and repair shop.
The Depozitory Web: depozitory.co.uk    Tel:01983 242165
A converted old wesleyan chapel, which now hosts exhibitions, performances and events across the arts.
The Little Gloster Web: thelittlegloster.com
Cookery classes for all abilities taught by professional chef Ben Cooke, as featured on Four In A Bed, with a focus on local produce with a Danish influence.
The Lost Crypt Web: thelostcrypt.co.uk     Tel: 07871 635751
Located in a real church crypt, try to solve the mystery of the death of Naval Surgeon, Dr James Lind, in this escape room.
TJ’s Gym and Fitness Studio Web: tjsgymisleofwight.com     Tel: 01983 406123
Local independent gym equipped with weights, treadmill, spin bikes and more along with exercise and kickboxing classes.
Tom’s Jewellery Workshop Web: tomsjewelleryworkshop.com     Tel: 07943 576505
Based in the workshop of Thomas P Cochran at Arreton Barns,

email

Tregear Pottery Web: tregearpottery.co.uk    Tel: 01983 731523
Learn to throw on the wheel with potter Neil Tregear and explore the showroom of Neil’s creations.
Trinity Theatre Web: caods.org.uk     Tel: 01983 295229
199 seat theatre in Cowes offering a selection of performances
Trotters Riding School Web: trottersriding.co.uk     Tel: 07501 094087
Based in Ryde, lessons in horse riding including beach rides.
UKSA Web: uksa.org     Tel: 01983 294941
Day courses in yachting and dingy sailing.
Ventnor Arts Club Web: ventnorartsclub.com     Tel: 01983 760678
Set in the old NatWest bank, the club offers live music, comedy and other performances, as well as film screening.
Ventnor Cricket Club Web: ventnor.play-cricket.com       Tel: 01983 852506
Cricket club with matches throughout the summer and clubhouse.
Ventnor Exchange Web: ventnorexchange.co.uk     Tel: 01983 716767
Set in the old Post Office and run by the team behind Ventnor Fringe, the exchange offers a craft beer bar, record store and theatre with live performances and regular workshops for arts, craft, music, comedy, writing and more.
Ventnor Fringe Web: vfringe.co.uk
Eclectic programme of performances from comedy, drama, music and more popping up in venues across Ventnor over 10 days.
Ventnor Golf Club Web: ventnorgolfclub.co.uk      Tel: 01983 853326
12 hole downland course set at the top of Ventnor with views across the town and coast and clubhouse.
Ventnor Tennis Club Web: ventnortennisclub.net
Tennis courts at the foot of St Boniface Down with 4 hard courts available for hire and floodlights on 3 of them. Coaching also available.
Waterside Pool Web: watersidepool.co.uk     Tel: 01983 563656
Community run swimming pool with retractable roof.
Westridge Golf Centre Web: westridgegolfcentre.com      Tel: 01983 613131
9 hole course with floodlit range on the outskirts of Ryde near Tesco with clubhouse.
West Wight Arts Association Web: westwightarts.co.uk     Tel: 01983 752956
Programme of professional chamber music concerts throughout the year.
West Wight Sports and Community Centre Web: westwight.org.uk     Tel: 01983 752168
Community run sports centre offering swimming, sports hall including badminton, pickleball, tennis and classes such as yoga, gym and an indoor climbing wall (with tuition available).
Wight Bike Web: wightbike.com    Tel: 01983 303322
Bicycle (and e-bicycle) hire located between Merstone and Arreton.
Wight Coast Fossils Web: wightcoastfossils.co.uk
Explore the island’s coastline in public and private fossil hunting tours with popular locations including Compton Bay, Grange Chine, Shanklin Chine and Thorness Bay.
Wight Cycle Hire Web: wightcyclehire.co.uk     Tel: 01983 760678
Bicycle (and e-bicycle) hire for all ages for half and full days as well as longer periods.
Wight Proms Festival Web: wightproms.co.uk
Week long festival featuring proms along with comedy, musicals, drag, dance, country and more.
Wight Wanders Web: wightwalks.co.uk     Tel: 01983 281662
Guided walks around the Isle of Wight.
Wight Water Web: wightwaters.com     Tel: 01983 404987
Based on the revetment between Shanklin and Sandown, hire and tuition available for a range of water sports including surfing, paddleboarding, kayaks and more.

If you want to purchase any equipment, visit their sister shop, Earth Wind and Water, near Shanklin station.

Wightlink Warriors Speedway Web: warriors-speedway.com     Tel: 03335 774458
Speedway racing from Wightlink Warriors and their other teams at Smallbrook Stadium.

Last Updated: 08/12/2023