2020 Openings: Attractions Guide

File:Roll of tickets (AM 1999.77.6-1).jpg
“File:Roll of tickets (AM 1999.77.6-1).jpg” by Caxton is licensed under CC BY 4.0

There is plenty to explore on the island this summer.

Alongside our beaches and countryside, the majority of our attractions are now back up and running. We’ve collated a list of all of those open or opening soon.

As more attractions are reopening all the time, we’ll keep updating the page. We’d recommend checking on the provided links for updates on hours, booking and other arrangements.

Shanklin

Shanklin Chine Web: shanklinchine.co.uk      Tel: 01983 866432
Historic gorge with famous waterfall, home to plenty of wildlife and a rich history from smuggling to a role in the World War Two.

Open

Summer Arcade Web: shanklinseafront.co.uk      Tel: 01983 867585
An arcade full of games and amusements for you, as well as Jungle Jim’s soft play, Toppings ice cream parlour, Bayside Fish and Chips and Caddyshack indoor golf.

Open

Pirates Cove and Jurassic Bay Adventure Golf + Fun Park Web: shanklinseafront.co.uk      Tel: 01983 867585
A choice of two different adventure golf courses themed round pirates and dinosaurs plus fun park and The Clubhouse cafe.

Open

Rylstone Gardens Tea Gardens, Golf + Bandstand Web: facebook.com/rylstoneteagardens      Tel: 07305 098262
Large tea gardens with a wide selection of plants and flowers on show with crazy golf and food and drink, plus park next door with bandstand and performances through the summer months.

Open

Big Mead Park, Play Area + Pond
Large public park with plenty of grass, duck pond and children’s play area. Lots of daffodils in the spring!

Open

Shanklin and Godshill Cricket Club Web: shanklin.play-cricket.com       Tel: 01983 868436
Cricket club with matches throughout the summer and clubhouse.

Open

Around The Island

 

Amazon World Web: amazonworld.co.uk      Tel: 01983 867122
Zoo with animals from around the world with cafe and also Monkey Madness soft play.

Open

Appuldurcombe House Web: english-heritage.org.uk
The remains of a once great manor house, open for you to explore, including the grounds designed by Capability Brown.

Open
Arreton Barns, Museum of Glass  + Shipwreck Centre Web: arretonbarns.co.uk      Tel: 01983 528353
Selection of local craft shops, Farmer Jack’s farm shop, Dairyman’s Daughter pub, Isle of Wight Museum of Glass and Shipwreck Centre.

Open

Blackgang Chine Web: blackgangchine.com     Tel: 01983 730330
Theme park with rides and attractions.

Open

Brading Roman Villa Web: bradingromanvilla.org.uk       Tel: 01983 406223
Explore the remains of a roman villa with mosaics and artefacts, plus find out about the island’s role in Roman Britain.

Open

Brown’s Golf Web: brownsfamilygolf.com    Tel: 01983 401011
A selection of traditional grass pitch and putt and putting courses and cafe

Temporarily Closed Due To Change Of Operator

Butterfly World Web: butterflyworldiow.com    Tel: 01983 883430
See a wide selection of butterflies flying freely.

Open

Carisbrooke Castle Web: english-heritage.org.uk    Tel: 01983 522107
Historic castle with rich history including an important role in the royal family

Open

Dimbola Web: dimbola.co.uk    Tel: 01983 756814
Museum and gallery dedicated to Julia Margaret Cameron with additional contemporary exhibitions.

Open

Dino Islands Adventure Golf Web: sandhamgardens.com    Tel: 01983 407802
Dinosaur themed adventure golf

Open

Dinosaur Isle Web: dinosaurisle.com    Tel: 01983 404344
Interactive dinosaur museum

Open

Fort Victoria Web: fortvictoria.co.uk    Tel: 01983 823893
Country park with planetarium, reptilarium, Archaeology Discovery Centre and more.

Reptilarium Open + Planetarium Open Soon

Godshill Model Village Web: modelvillagegodshill.co.uk    Tel: 01983 840270
The famous model village featuring Godshill and Shanklin and RHS partner garden

Open

Haven Falconry Post Code: PO33 4RE
Web: haven-falconry.co.uk    Tel: 01983 716556
Falconry centre with flying displays and over 50 birds to see

Open

Isle of Wight Bus and Coach Museum Web: iwbusmuseum.org.uk    Tel: 01983 567796
A selection of buses and coaches dating back to the 1920s.

Open

Isle of Wight Donkey Sanctuary Web: iowdonkeysanctuary.org    Tel: 01983 852693
Home to over 90 donkeys and more in the sanctuary

Open

Isle of Wight Steam Railway Web: iwsteamrailway.co.uk    Tel: 01983 882204
Historic steam railway line with train rides, museum and Train Story.

Open

Isle of Wight Zoo Web: isleofwightzoo.com    Tel: 01983 403883
Zoo with plenty of big cats, monkeys and much more

Open

Monkey Haven Web: monkeyhaven.org    Tel: 01983 530885
Rescue haven for monkeys, owls and more

Open

Mottistone Gardens Web: nationaltrust.org.uk    Tel:
Expansive gardens set in the grounds of an Elizabethan manor house

Open

Museum of Island History Web: iow.gov.uk    Tel: 01983 823433
Located in Newport Guildhall, museum charting the history of the island from the dinosaurs to present day

Open

Newport Roman Villa Web: iow.gov.uk    Tel: 01983 823433
Explore the remains of a former roman villa.

Open

Osborne House Web: english-heritage.org.uk    Tel: 01983 200022
Former royal residence of Queen Victoria

Open

Quarr Abbey Web: quarrabbey.org    Tel: 01983 882420
Monastery home to a small group of Benedictine monks

Open

Robin Hill Web: robin-hill.com    Tel: 01983 527352
Country park with walks, rides and outdoor attractions

Open

Ryde Superbowl + LaserQuest Web: rydesuperbowl.com    Tel: 01983 617070
Ten pin bowling and laser quest

Open

Sandham Karts Web: sandhamgardens.com    Tel: 01983 407802
Electric go karts for ages 4+.

Open

Sandham Sky Nets Web: sandhamgardens.com    Tel: 01983 407802
Sky nets with open air bounce park.

Open

Sandown Pier Web: sandownpier.co.uk    Tel: 01983 404122
Pier with amusements, Lost World adventure golf, Magic Island soft play, Superbowl bowling, Scruffy Jacks sports bar and end of the pier rides.

Open + Magic Island To Open Later

St Catherine’s Oratory Web: english-heritage.org.uk
Medieval octagonal tower that is the remains of the oratory

Open

Tapnell Farm Web: tapnellfarm.com    Tel: 01983 758722
Visit the farm park to see the animals, soft play, jumping pillow, mini golf, zip wires, sledge slides, aqua park for an inflatable obstacle course, The Cow restaurant and more.

Open

The Needles Landmark Attraction Web: theneedles.co.uk    Tel: 01983 752401
See the famous needles and lighthouse from land or the chair lift, pick up some Alum Bay glass and sand and go on the rides.

Open

Ventnor Botanic Gardens Web: botanic.co.uk    Tel: 01983 855397
Explore the gardens from around the world that thrive in our microclimate, visit the hot house and take a break in the cafes.

Open

West Wight Alpacas Web: westwightalpacas.co.uk    Tel: 01983 760900
Enjoy a walk with the alpacas and llamas, explore the farm and meet all of the other animals.

Open

West Wight Heritage Centre Web: fatag.co.uk    Email: info@fatag.co.uk
A new museum showcasing the archive of Freshwater and Totland Archive Group.

Open

Wight Aviation Museum Web: wightaviationmuseum.org.uk     Tel: 07949 704052
Museum celebrating the history of aviation on the Isle of Wight, located at Isle of Wight Airport in Sandown.

Open

Wight Karting Web: wightkarting.co.uk     Tel: 01983 565366
All weather 520m floodlit go kart track for ages 8+.

Open

Wight Military and Heritage Museum Web: wmahm.org.uk     Tel: 01983 632039
Military museum with wide range of tanks, vehicles, war heritage and more.

Open

Last Updated: 09/10/2020